CHOCOLATE BREAD

photo_2015-04-12_13-04-52

So, I caught a really bad cold on Saturday and I’m still recovering from it and it really sucks not being able to swallow stuff or taste anything because there is just so much grossness in your nose/throat? (Seeing as this is a baking blog I won’t go into gross detail)

photo_2015-04-12_13-05-02

But having said all that, pulled an all-nighter yesterday (I only slept at 5:30AM and woke up at 6:15AM LOL) to complete my first draft for my EE. Doing an EE on baking science really spoils the fun of baking to an extent I feel but, oh well knowledge is always useful! I crashed on the floor for like 3 hours today and boy do I need some stress-baking relief. The symptons of over-exhaustion and anciety are back and idk, I’m getting worried but I’m taking it a day at a time and let’s see how that goes! So ok, sorry for the long nonsensical spiel about my day, here’s what you’re here for. This recipe is so simple like there is no need for yeast and there’s nothing like “creaming” or the need for a broiler/double boiler/simmering of ANY SORTS! You just dump them all together, put them in the oven and voila. Also, meeting my favourite chocolate-lover tomorrow and he loves chocolate bread more than anything, so there’s no question why I baked this!

photo_2015-04-12_13-04-55

So here’s the super simple chocolate bread recipe! (I halved this recipe btw!)

2 +1/4  cup all-purpose flour

2 cups white sugar

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 + 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 + 1/2 cup milk

1 cup vegetable oil

3 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract 

+ chocolate chips!

1. Preheat your oven to about 160degC

2. Whisk all your dry ingredients together.

3. Using an electric mixer, beat in the milk, oil, eggs and vanilla into your dry ingredients.

4. Add the chocolate chips (together with 2 tbsp of flour to prevent the chocolates from sinking to the bottom!)

photo_2015-04-12_13-04-56

5. Let it bake for about 1 hour and 15 mins!

I took mine out at 45mins as I was waaaaaaaaaaay too impatient but it tasted more fudgey/cakey! I guess, it’s not too bad for a first attempt!

photo_2015-04-12_13-04-53

Enjoy!

– Yun

One thought on “CHOCOLATE BREAD

Leave a Reply

